Kubota Saki/Ego Wrappin – Ihoujin

A Stranger

Lyrics: Kubota Saki
Music: Kubota Saki

Children are facing the sky
Spreading both hands
Trying to grasp on to
birds, clouds, and even to dreams
Those shapes, the me who knew nothing of them until yesterday
I believed I could reach you with just these fingers
In the distance the sky and the earth touch
The road is calling to the traveller from the past
To you, I’m just someone who happened to pass you by
Just a stranger seeming to turn around for a second look

In the waves of people heading to the market
Entrusting my body
To the stone paved street corner
Roaming about with a slow sway
A praying voice, a distorted sound, like a rustling song
I’ve tossed it away, left behind in the passing white morning
Time travel has somehow buried
The scar in my heart in these mysterious streets
A letter of only goodbye, my continually indecisive writing
Afterwards, I will be a stranger with grief I don’t know what to do with
Afterwards, I will be a stranger with grief I don’t know what to do with

******************************************************************
So, Ego Wrappin’ covered this song, which is how I’ve heard it. Original is by Saki Kubota who gave it a much more Arabian touch. Her version, I would definitely use the word “Foreigner” for Ihoujin. Ego Wrappin’s, however, feels more like the general “Stranger.” It’s a little less with the exotic, maybe, more with the heartbreak, I feel like.

Anyway, it’s good. They do good covers. I highly recommend their cover of Curtis Mayfield’s Move On Up. Or, you know…ANYTHING Ego Wrappin’ do. They’re just that good and have great taste. Do it. You’ll thank yourself for it.

Leave a comment